Loading…
Loading…
Japan
Osaka Castle, Dotonbori's neon and street food, Kuromon Market, the Kaiyukan aquarium and Universal Studios Japan, with Kyoto, Nara and Kobe a short train ride away.
40 plans from 11 providers that work across Japan, including Osaka. Prices checked October 2026; providers change them often, so confirm before you buy.
Travel eSIM? No registration needed
Sources: simology.io, selectra.jp, tokyointernationalmeetup.com
Hours per day
You'll want about 7 GB for 7 days.
GigSky
4G/5G · Hotspot OK
1 GB
7 days
$2.99
$2.99/GB
Ubigi
4G/5G · Hotspot OK
Network not confirmed per plan (Docomo/KDDI reported)
1 GB
3 days
$3.50
$3.50/GB
Saily
KDDI (au) · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
Also uses SoftBank
1 GB
7 days
$3.99
$3.99/GB
Nomad
KDDI (au) · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
Network listed as KDDI au / SoftBank
5 GB
30 days
$10
$2/GB
Jetpac
4G/5G · Hotspot OK
5 GB
30 days
$10
$2/GB
Saily
KDDI (au) · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
5 GB
30 days
$10.99
$2.20/GB
Airalo
SoftBank · 4G/5G (not stated)
Primary network SoftBank plus 1 unnamed partner
Unlimited
3 days
$11.50
$3.83/day
Holafly
KDDI (au) · 5G where available, 4G/LTE; fair-use slowdown up to 1 day · Hotspot OK
Hotspot capped at 1 GB/day; also uses SoftBank
Unlimited
3 days
$11.90
$3.97/day
Mobal
Docomo · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
¥2,340 at 158.33 JPY/USD
3 GB
8 days
$14.78
$4.93/GB
Nomad
KDDI (au) · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
Sale price (normally $18)
10 GB
30 days
$16
$1.60/GB
Jetpac
4G/5G · Hotspot OK
10 GB
30 days
$16
$1.60/GB
Ubigi
4G/5G · Hotspot OK
10 GB
30 days
$16.50
$1.65/GB
GigSky
4G/5G · Hotspot OK
10 GB
30 days
$16.79
$1.68/GB
Mobal
Docomo · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
¥2,750
10 GB
8 days
$17.37
$1.74/GB
aloSIM
KDDI (au) · LTE/5G
10 GB
30 days
$18
$1.80/GB
Yesim
5G · Hotspot OK
esimdb lists $17.94
10 GB
30 days
$19.20
$1.92/GB
Maya Mobile
5 GB/day full speed, then 3 Mbps · Hotspot OK
Global plan (165+ countries), not Japan-only
Unlimited
7 days
$19.99
$2.86/day
GigSky
3.5 GB/day high speed · Hotspot OK
Daily-cap plan
Unlimited
7 days
$24.49
$3.50/day
Mobal
Docomo · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
¥3,900
50 GB
16 days
$24.63
$0.49/GB
Saily
KDDI (au) · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
20 GB
30 days
$24.99
$1.25/GB
Nomad
KDDI (au) · 2 GB/day full speed, then 1 Mbps (per esimdb) · Hotspot OK
Unlimited
7 days
$25
$3.57/day
Airalo
SoftBank · Third-party report: throttled to 1 Mbps after 3 GB/day
Unlimited
7 days
$26.50
$3.79/day
aloSIM
KDDI (au) · 3 GB/day, then 1 kbps (per esimdb)
Unlimited
7 days
$27
$3.86/day
Yesim
5G; fair-use throttling · Hotspot OK
Unlimited
7 days
$27.48
$3.93/day
Holafly
KDDI (au) · 5G where available, 4G/LTE · Hotspot OK
Hotspot capped at 1 GB/day; also uses SoftBank
Unlimited
7 days
$27.50
$3.93/day
Maya Mobile
5 GB/day full speed, then 3 Mbps · Hotspot OK
Global plan, not Japan-only
Unlimited
14 days
$27.99
$2/day
Saily
KDDI (au) · 5 GB/day full speed, then 1 Mbps · Hotspot OK
Unlimited
7 days
$28.99
$4.14/day
aloSIM
KDDI (au) · LTE/5G · Hotspot OK
'Extra' tier; hotspot named as a use case
50 GB
30 days
$34.50
$0.69/GB
Jetpac
4G/5G · Hotspot OK
40 GB
30 days
$34.99
$0.87/GB
Nomad
KDDI (au) · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
50 GB
30 days
$35
$0.70/GB
Ubigi
Then unlimited at 2 Mbps · Hotspot OK
30 GB
15 days
$39
$1.30/GB
Yesim
5G; fair-use throttling · Hotspot OK
Unlimited
15 days
$40.37
$2.69/day
Saily
KDDI (au) · 5 GB/day full speed, then 1 Mbps · Hotspot OK
Unlimited
15 days
$48.99
$3.27/day
aloSIM
KDDI (au) · 3 GB/day, then 1 kbps (per esimdb)
Unlimited
15 days
$49
$3.27/day
Maya Mobile
5 GB/day full speed, then 3 Mbps · Hotspot OK
Global plan, not Japan-only
Unlimited
30 days
$49.99
$1.67/day
Mobal
Docomo · 4G/5G · Hotspot OK
¥8,000
100 GB
31 days
$50.53
$0.51/GB
Ubigi
Then unlimited at 2 Mbps · Hotspot OK
60 GB
30 days
$65
$1.08/GB
Jetpac
3 GB/24h full speed, then 1 Mbps · Hotspot OK
Unlimited
30 days
$65.99
$2.20/day
Airalo
SoftBank · 4G/5G (not stated)
Unlimited
30 days
$69
$2.30/day
Holafly
KDDI (au) · 5G where available, 4G/LTE · Hotspot OK
Hotspot capped at 1 GB/day; also uses SoftBank
Unlimited
30 days
$73.90
$2.46/day
Japan has three big networks, Docomo, KDDI (au) and SoftBank, plus newcomer Rakuten. Most travel eSIMs ride on au or SoftBank; Mobal and Sakura Mobile use Docomo. In Tokyo all three are excellent. Docomo pulls ahead underground, in the mountains and in the countryside.
Sources: sakuramobile.jp, esimpass.com, simology.io
Not for a data-only travel eSIM. A plan with a Japanese phone number needs an ID check. Rules for data SIMs may tighten in 2026, so keep your passport handy.
Usually not. Saily and Maya slow down after 5 GB a day, Jetpac and aloSIM after 3 GB, Nomad after 2 GB. Holafly caps hotspot use at 1 GB a day.
For mountains, onsen towns, Nikko or hiking, a Docomo plan (Mobal, Sakura Mobile) or au is safest. For city trips, au or SoftBank plans are fine.
Most providers allow hotspot (Saily, Nomad, Jetpac, GigSky, Yesim, Mobal, Ubigi). Holafly caps it at 1 GB a day.
Install it at home on Wi-Fi before you fly. Some plans start counting days at installation, so check the plan's activation rule. Most eSIMs can only be installed once.
Checked October 2026. Rules and coverage change; confirm with your provider.